Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards 2024

  • Opens
    8 Dec 2023
  • Deadline
    16 Feb 2024
  • Link
  • Entry fee
  • Topics Awards, Photobooks

Submissions for the Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards are now welcome and are invited from publishers, authors, collectives and individuals self-publishing their work.


The annual Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards recognise individuals or groups of individuals who, in the opinion of the Judges, have made an outstanding original or lasting contribution to the literature of or concerning the art and practice of photography or the moving image. Two winning titles are selected; one in the field of photography and one in the field of the moving image (including film, television and digital media). 

Practical Info

Books must be published between the 1 January and 31 December 2023. The copyright date on the colophon determines the publication year. They must be published, distributed or available to buy (including online) in the UK. Non-English language books must be accompanied by an English language translation of all text. Submissions in the Photography Book award category must contain a significant textual element (image-only books are not eligible). Self-published titles must have been released in a minimum print run of 100 copies. New editions of books are eligible. However, reprints or revised books should have a significant amount of new material, and the original or earlier editions should not have been previously long-listed for the awards.

The judging panel will consist of three internationally recognised experts in their specialist fields. There are separate panels for the photography and moving image awards. From the total submissions, a long list of ten books is selected in each category. This is then reduced to shortlists of three, from which two final winning publications are chosen. The author/s or editor/s of each winning book receive a £5,000 cash prize. Events celebrating the 2024 awards will take place in Autumn.

About Kraszna-Krausz

Since their inception in 1985 the Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards have been the UK’s leading prizes for books on photography and the moving image. Winning books are those which make original and lasting educational, professional, historical and cultural contributions to the field. With prize money of £10,000 divided equally between the winning title in the Photography category and the winning title in the Moving Image category, the Awards celebrate excellence in photography and moving image publishing.

@ Sunil Gupta

@ Sunil Gupta

© Dream is Wonderful, Yet Unclear by Maria Kapajeva

© Dream is Wonderful, Yet Unclear by Maria Kapajeva

© Susan Meiselas

© Susan Meiselas

Latest Awards

  • PHotoESPAÑA Best Photobook 2024

  • Premio Marco Bastianelli 2024

  • Fotolibro40 Open Call

  • 2024 Daylight Photo Awards

  • Restart 2024 Open Call

  • PhotoVogue's Local Open Call: Latin American Panorama

Sign up to our weekly newsletter

Stay in the loop

We will send you weekly news on contemporary photography. You can change your mind at any time. We will treat your data with respect. For more information please visit our privacy policy. By ticking here, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with them. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.